the story in history

sol

Things we discovered today:
– stories are how we share our lives
– history is made up of stories
– facts tell stories
– if you can ask a question, you can tell a story
– facts without imagination paint only half a picture

Today, we looked at images from “How the Other Half Lives” and found the stories within. Fresh from a field trip to the Tenement Museum & well-grounded in an interdisciplinary immigration study, they leapt in. Every day, my students amaze & delight me. Today was no different. Truly, I’m spoiled, & pretty smug about it.

6 thoughts on “the story in history

  1. I was recently at the Tenement Museum for the Irish Outsiders tour. It’s an amazing place–such sensitivity to multiple perspectives. You’re lucky to be close enough to bring your students!

  2. I keep hearing about the Tenement Museum–need to get back to NY. I loved the line: facts without imagination paint only half a picture. I need to share that with some of my teachers and students. It reminds me to keep the beauty in non-fiction writing. Thanks! You should be smug!!!

Leave a Reply

