day seven

sol

I must have drafted three different slices in my head today: about the morning train, the book I’m reading, my students in multilingual reading groups debating the word choices in their stories, the creeper from work, the way my heart still beats frantic, ecstatic wings when I hear my boyfriend turn his key in my lock. Cats, snow, cable guy, overheard at Fairway – more than three drafts, for sure. But pizza & a movie ran away with me tonight, & I could hardly explain my panicky “oh no oh no it’s TOO LATE” to my boyfriend as I stared at the time, aghast. Missed midnight by 15 minutes. I’m trying to tell myself this still counts for me. I almost believe it.

8 thoughts on “day seven

  1. I love how your living a writerly life, watching the world around you through writer’s eyes. Even if you did not make the midnight deadline, you were slicing in your mind all day. Also, I love the excitement you have “heart still beats frantic, ecstatic wings”. That’s lovely.

  2. Oh sorry you missed the deadline! We have a creeper at work and I draft in my head and always wish I had enough hands to carry my computer, phone, water bottle and a notebook. Love the emotional tenseness and release in the end. Hope it was a good movie! Sounds like you had good company!

  3. The slice still counts and it’s a good one. Your list of potential topics is great! I especially liked: “the way my heart still beats frantic, ecstatic wings when I hear my boyfriend turn his key in my lock.” This line tells so much without many words. Great writing!

Leave a Reply

